Is “thick” a compliment?!

Seriously…I was in my International Relations class the other day talking with some people while we were waiting on our professor and the topic turned to fitness and work out tips. Of course I chimed in, that is my shit. I was telling them about my love for Body Pump and the Nike Training Club app when the 92lb black girl says “I want to be thick like you girl, what exactly do you do?” UMMMM?! I’m sorry but I don’t know if I should thank you or smack you! I guess this is a cultural compliment that my white “thick” ass doesn’t quite get lol.

I mean look, I get it. I am built like some sort of 90’s freakshow gymnast (I say 90’s because now they all look so tall and lean in comparison to the ones I grew up idolizing) with tree trunk thighs and a huge ass. But it isn’t some obsession with the “Brazillian Butt” crap they are advertising or anything recent for that matter that has achieved this “thickness”. I can leg press 175lbs, do billions of squats and throw my ass over my head in tumbling because of a life time of ass growing work. Gymnastics to dance to cheerleading is the road that lead me to this figure. I don’t hate it, but I’m not exactly a fan of having to A) buy a size up in bottoms so that my ass will fit or B) purchasing APPLE BOTTOMS or BABY PHAT to accommodate this monster. After losing 20lbs recently I don’t really like the word thick. LOL. Bottom line (HA!) is I’d rather have this badonkadonk then some pancake ass, so thanks tiny black girl in my class-I think I like what you said?!

Anyhoo, time for house work. 12:30 VPK pick up rolls around fast and that’s followed by errands, gym (coincidentally its legs day) and the pool. Attempting to teach SD to snorkel before our cruise in 17 days…but who’s counting? :)

-Manda

LOVE this ad. Thank you Nike for keeping it 100!

2 thoughts on “Is “thick” a compliment?!

  1. Brock says:

    Its not like you’ve found pics of your ass from the club on your husbands old computer right…

  2. Meghan says:

    AMEN!

Leave a Reply

